Managed Well

1 Timothy 3_4_Managed Well

When Paul laid out the qualifications for the leaders of the church, one quality that was to characterize both pastors and deacons was this: 

He must manage his children and his household well. (1Timothy 3:4) 

For at least ten years, I declined being a deacon at my church because of this verse.  You see, I thought “managed well” meant I was getting the results from my efforts that I wanted within my home…but I wasn’t.    

Unfortunately, my decision was based upon a faulty understanding. In the verse above, “manage” was derived from a Greek word that meant “to stand before, or stand by.”  The word conveyed the idea of being actively engaged (versus idle, passive, or uninvolved).  Yes, part of that active involvement is to set rules and boundaries for the children; but, the focus of the word is on the engagement of the parent, not on the outcome of the rules. 

No, I didn’t always get things right in my home, and like all parents, there were times when I was lazy and didn’t take as much action as I could have.  However, I think my kids would say I was a very involved dad; I was engaged – not perfectly, but faithfully, and consistently. 

My point today is not whether Dave is/was an adequate parent, but to ask the question of each of you – how engaged are you  on the home front?  Are you actively involved in the life of each member or your family?  Remember, our faith needs to make a real difference in our own homes before it can positively impact the homes of others. –Dave  

(To receive these free daily devotions via email, subscribe at:  http://www.theteachableheart.com/blogs—daily-devotions.html. For more information about the ministry, or to order the devotional books, visit:  http://www.theteachableheart.com/books.html).

About The Teachable Heart

A Teachable Heart, as described in Mark 4:20, is 'good soil' that hears and understands God's Word, accepts it as His revealed truth, and applies it to produce fruit. Learn more about the ministry at: www.TheTeachableHeart.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment