A Multitude of Tender Mercies

Isaiah wrote that God had taught him “how to sustain with a word him who is weary” (Isaiah 50:4).  If you’re weary today, I hope this message will sustain you!  

I ran across this sustaining word on June 6th – what would have been my sister’s 64th birthday.  The day had the potential to be difficult.  But in His perfect timing, God had this verse scheduled in my daily reading plan.  “Hear me, O Lord, for Your lovingkindness is good; Turn to me according to the multitude of Your tender mercies.” (Psalm 69:16, NKJV) 

We don’t know what King David was facing; only that things were BAD.  So, he cried out to a God he knew to be good, loving, kind, and abounding with tender mercy.  Elsewhere, David wrote that God doesn’t deal with us as we deserve, but according to His mercy (Psalm 103:10-14).

I don’t know about you, but I need a God who doesn’t give me what I deserve on a daily basis.  I need a God whose mercy never runs dry.  “Tender mercies” comes from a single Hebrew root word which means “womb.”  It appears 44 times in the Old Testament and most describe the merciful compassion God has for His children.  Like the womb of a mother, God’s tender mercies protect us, nurture us, and allow us to grow in safety. 

“Multitude” is from a Hebrew word which means “abundance” or “greatly huge.”  It was used by God to describe the number of stars in the heavens (Deuteronomy 28:62).  Unlike us, God is at no risk of running short on mercy or forgiveness.  When He offers mercy to you, it doesn’t take away from the mercy He has to offer me, and vice versa.

As I contemplated God’s limitless mercy, I was reminded of Jesus’ answer to Peter’s question about how many times he had to forgive his brother.  Peter had offered a number which the Jews would have thought excessive – seven times.  That was double, plus one, of what the law required.  Yet Jesus replied, “I do not say to you seven times, but seventy-seven times” (Matthew 18:21-22).

How does this relate to the multitude of God’s tender mercies?  I’m glad you asked.  God wouldn’t ask us to do something He doesn’t model.  Jesus told Peter (and us) to forgive others without limit because that’s the way God deals with us – according to the multitude of His tender mercies!  God’s mercy for you is more than abundant.  Let that sustain your weary soul! –Dave

(To receive these free daily devotions via email, subscribe here.  You may listen to The Teachable Heart Podcast on Spotify, Google Podcast, or Audible.  For more information about the ministry, or to order the devotional books, visit: https://theteachableheart.com/books.)

About The Teachable Heart

A Teachable Heart, as described in Mark 4:20, is 'good soil' that hears and understands God's Word, accepts it as His revealed truth, and applies it to produce fruit. Learn more about the ministry at: www.TheTeachableHeart.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment